Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I want to reread

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ‘Top ten books I want to reread’. I don’t really reread, there are far too many books to read in this world to read ones I’ve already read, but if I did, these are the ones I’d pick.

1. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

His Dark MaterialsI have actually reread these books, sort of, in as much as I have listened to the audiobooks as well as reading the hard copies. Despite this, and the fact that they are children’s’ books, I still feel that I haven’t fully understood them. I absolutely love these books, they’d probably be my desert island pick.

2. Brazzaville Beach by William Boyd

Brazzaville BeachThis is one of my favourite books but I read it about 20 years ago, so I could probably do with refreshing my mind with it and seeing if I still love it as much as a proper adult.

3. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Chronicles of NarniaI think it would be intriguing to reread these books as an adult with the knowledge that they are full of religious allegory and see whether this spoils the enjoyment I got from these books as a naive child.

4. The Mortal Engines series by Philip Reeve and 5. This Other Eden by Ben Elton

Mortal Engines This Other Eden

I’m going to call my unborn daughter Wren Alexandra Rosalie, partially inspired by the characters Wren in The Mortal Engines and Rosalie in This Other Eden. So I should probably reread these books to be sure than the characters are good namesakes!

6. Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe

Uncle Tom's CabinI’ve just got back from a holiday in America. One of the places we visited was Harriet Beecher Stowe’s house in Hartford, Connecticut (and Mark Twain’s extraordinary house next door) which has inspired me to want to refamiliarise myself with her work.

7. The Snow Spider by Jenny Nimmo

The Snow SpiderI read this as a child and I remember thinking it was amazing but also being completely baffled by it. I have been meaning to reread it for years to see if it makes more sense to me as an adult.

8. Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie

Bet MeI think Crusie is probably the world’s best romance writer. If I ever needed a pick me up on a bad day, I’m sure I could cheer myself up by rereading one of her books and I think this is probably her best.

9. Milly-Molly-Mandy series by Joyce Lankester Brisley and 10. Fantastic Mr Fox by Roald Dahl

Two of my absolute favourite books as a child and I’m really looking forward to reading them to my daughter once she is old enough. I’m pretty much looking forward to rereading all of Roald Dahl’s books, it will be such a treat to have the excuse to rediscover them.

Milly Molly Mandy Fantastic Mr Fox

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I want to reread”

  1. I have never found anyone else who’d read Brazzaville Beach! I read it a few years ago on a vacation and couldn’t put it down. His Dark Materials is on my re-read list this week too! Nice list!

Leave a Reply

