Review of ‘City of Heavenly Fire’ by Cassandra Clare

City of Heavenly FireI find it almost impossible to believe that the author of this series is also the author of The Infernal Devices series the gap in quality between the two series is astonishing. The Infernal Devices books are exciting, well-paced, with engaging characters; whereas The Mortal Instruments series is 80% filler. Sadly City of Heavenly Fire also falls into this trap. It is repetitive, predictable and simply far far too long. I wish Clare had given up on this series after the third installment.

The sixth, and thankfully final, installment follows Clary, Jace et al as they travel into the demons’ dimension in order to defeat Sebastian. It takes them 725 pages. I have no idea why it takes so long, there is so much filler, aimless wandering about and unnecessary scenes with Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn in an attempt to sell the next series of Shadowhunter books. Even after Sebastian’s inevitable defeat there is still a good 70 odd pages dedicated to giving everyone a happy ending and tying up everything into a nice bow.

There is only one exciting and unexpected moment and this comes fairly early on in the book when SPOILER ALERT Jordan is killed. The rest of the book is so, so dull and monotonous.

I absolutely must stop wasting my time by reading these books, I swear here and now that I will not pick up any books in the next series The Dark Artifices.

3 thoughts on “Review of ‘City of Heavenly Fire’ by Cassandra Clare”

  1. I thought this was a good ending to the series, but I agree that it went on far too long. It should have just been a trilogy. I also HATED that it was used as a back-door pilot for the next series. And since I haven’t read Infernal Devices, I hated that there were main characters from that series that gave away some spoilers.

    1. Yes, it was a weird choice using some characters from the Infernal Devices. The references to Tessa and Zachariah were just vague enough to annoy people who have read that series but also specific enough to spoil the ending of that series for people who haven’t.

  2. Agreed the series went on for way too long. I haven’t picked this one up yet and I probably won’t because I don’t even remember what happened in the last one. The bloat is a thing that happens with disappointing frequency in YA series I find (outside of YA too of course, but I find it to be more blatant with YA)

Leave a Reply

