Review of ‘The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight’ by Jennifer E Smith

CoverI’ve been a bit quiet on the review front recently. I had some momentous news a month ago and I’ve barely read anything since. I’ve wanted to but I’ve just found it really hard to concentrate on reading. Determined to get over this reading slump, I decided to pick up a really easy, short YA book which would get me back in the swing.

I chose ‘The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight’ by Jennifer E Smith, which I had received as an ARC copy from Headline via Bookbridgr. I could tell from the title that it was going to be just the right type of light fluffy read I was looking for.

The book is about Hadley, a teenage girl who is travelling to London to attend her father’s second marriage to a woman who she has never met. On the flight she meets hunky English boy, Oliver, and as you’d expect they hit it off pretty well.

This is a very predictable YA love story, but it is enjoyable in it’s predictability. It’s incredibly easy to read and has a touching, satisfying ending. It’s forgettable but very sweet and likeable.

I wasn’t entirely convinced by the details in the description of the flight, it felt like it could have been better researched. For example, on trans-Atlantic flights everyone gets their own TV screen and you don’t have to pay for alcohol. However, this is my only criticism; the book generally does exactly what it sets out to, it made me cry and it made me smile.

4 thoughts on “Review of ‘The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight’ by Jennifer E Smith”

  1. Not trying to be picky or anything, but not all trans-Atlantic flights offer individual screens. I’ve been on at least one that didn’t. It sucked.
    Sounds like a cute book though. 🙂 Glad you got out of your slump!

Leave a Reply

