Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite movies based on books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ‘Top ten favorite movies or TV shows’. I like to keep my posts book themed, so I’ve decided to do my top ten movies based on books. I’m generally of the opinion that books are better than films, but occasionally the films (especially children’s films and biopics) get it almost right

10 Things I Hate About You1. 10 Things I Hate About You

A bit of a cheat as it’s only loosely based on Shakespeare’s play ‘The Taming of the Shrew’. Thank heavens because the play is a hideous reflection of 16th century gender politics but the film is the sweetest, funniest romantic comedy. I love it. Plus, Heath Ledger is divine.

Willy Wonka2. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Love the book, love the film. I want to go to the chocolate factory! Roald Dahl is a genius and Gene Wilder brings the creepy Willy Wonka to life perfectly.

Mary Poppins3. Mary Poppins

This was one of my favourite films when I was a child, I basically watched it on repeat. I also had the book, but never managed to get into it, probably because I knew the story so well from watching the film so often.

The Sound of Music4. The Sound of Music

Another of my all time favourite childhood movies. The music is fabulous and the fictionalisation of the real-life storyline raises it above Maria Von Trapp’s autobiographical work.

Battle Royale5. Battle Royale

This film does a really good job of reflecting the content of the original book. It’s such a great book, shocking and compelling, really different (until The Hunger Games came along!).

Fellowship of the Ring6. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

When I first saw this film, I was so annoyed with the ending, it just stops! But after viewing the sequels and seeing this more than once, I’ve grown to really love it. I particularly enjoy the relationships between the members of the fellowship. It also does a really good job of editing out some of the extraneous material from the original book.

Stardust7. Stardust

I’ve not read the original book, but I love the film, it’s really feel good and conjures up a fantastic fantasy world.

12 Years a Slave8. 12 Years a Slave

This is a stunning and important retelling of Soloman Northup’s story. It probably makes my top ten because I’ve seen it in the past year. It was a toss up between this and Brokeback Mountain for this slot.

Stand by Me9. Stand By Me

I love coming of age films (and books) and this is the one which all others try to live up to. The music, the period setting, the young River Phoenix, it’s all perfect. I’ve not read Stephen King’s original story but I’d be surprised if it is better than the film.

Atonement10. Atonement

This does an amazing job of making a film out of a seemingly unfilmable book. I thought it got the tone of the book perfectly and I loved clever use of sound and music. Both the film and the book are complete sobfests.

That’s actually a pretty great collection of movies; maybe films based on books are better than I thought! What’s your favourite film inspired by a book?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite movies based on books”

  1. WOW!! Great list! These are some truly phenomenal book movies! (I almost got a little emotional thinking about Mary Poppins to be honest)
    And Charlie and the Chocolate Factory… LoTR *Sigh* These are truly classics in film and novel form!

  2. I only saw Stand By Me a few months ago for the first time and was just blown away by it! It’s so amazing! I’ve not read the story ‘The Body’ but my husband has and he thinks it is really good too!

  3. I couldn’t watch 12 years a slave. I saw 10 minutes of it and had to leave. I am far too emotional for that! but 10 Things I Hate About You…best!

Leave a Reply

