The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Very inspiring blogger awardThanks so much to the lovely Alex  @ alexinbookland and Rachael @ The End of the Chapter for nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. It’s the first time I’ve been nominated/tagged for anything and it’s very exciting!

Here are the rules for this blogger award:

  1. Thank and link the amazing person who nominated you.
  2. List the rules and display the award.
  3. Share seven facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.
  5. Optional: Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.

Seven (bookish) facts about me:

I like to keep my blog posts book related, so my seven facts will all be bookish!

  1. After I left university, I worked for about 18 months at Waterstones in Newbury. As a result I am a master of ‘pyramiding’  (arranging piles of books on a table so that the bigger piles are in the middle and the smaller piles around the edge of the table) and even now 10 years later, I still feel the need to tidy up tables whenever I go into a bookshop!
  2. When I was 11, my friends and I ran a weekly book club called the ‘Literature Association’ or LA. I was the megalomaniac president and I used to write weekly newsletters on my dad’s old type-writer and make my friends sit book exams. Our club password was Erutaretil (literature backwards) and we chanted “Eru, Eru, Erutaretil” before starting our meetings!
  3. The troll under the bridgeMy favourite film based on a book is probably 10 Things I Hate About You, based on The Taming of the Shrew, which is an awful play in terms of gender politics but translated perfectly into a teenage rom-com! My husband and I love it so much that we went on a pilgrimage to locations from the film around Seattle and Tacoma in 2002, including the troll under the bridge, the gasworks park, the high school and of course the bookshop in Fremont – where my husband bought me a book for my 23rd birthday (A Friend of the Earth by TC Boyle).
  4. One of the readings at my wedding was and extract from The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman:

    My wedding“we’ll cling together so tight that nothing and no one’ll ever tear us apart. Every atom of me and every atom of you… We’ll live in birds and flowers and dragonflies and pine trees and in clouds and in those little specks of light you see floating in sunbeams… And when they use our atoms to make new lives, they won’t just be able to take one, they’ll have to take two, one of you and one of me, we’ll be joined so tight”

    We were worried that the vicar would not allow us to have a reading from such an anti-religious book, but when we ran it past him and his wife, it made his wife cry and they thought it was perfect!

  5. My favourite book when I was little was Fantastic Mr Fox. My best friend and I used to dress up as Farmer Bunce and Farmer Boggis and reenact scenes from the book for our parents.
  6. StravaganzaUnlike most people, I don’t believe I have a book in me. Despite my love of reading, I’m dreadful at creative writing and find it a real chore! I much prefer consuming other people’s hard work.
  7. The book world I would most like to be able to visit is the historic Italy of Mary Hoffman’s Stravaganza series. I would be amazing to be a Stravagante and to be able to travel between 16th century Venice and real modern life!

I’m nominating:

Some of these may have already been nominated or already participated, but they are all fab book blogs which you should visit! 15 people seemed a bit like overkill, so I’ve picked 10:

  1. Chrissi Reads
  2. Booknerderie
  3. Mrs H Bookworm
  4. Brin’s Book Blog
  5. Read What I Like
  6. Cleopatra Loves Books
  7. It’s All About Books
  8. Bookishswint
  9. Another After Thought
  10. The Wicked Queen’s Mirror
10 thoughts on “The Very Inspiring Blogger Award”

  1. I love numbers 2 & 4! I wish I had thought of trying to make a book club when I was younger, but I probably thought I was the only avid reader amongst my peers. As for the quote from Amber Spyglass, how perfect is it for a wedding?! I’m in love! 😀

Leave a Reply

