Summer TBR

Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my summer TBR list

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ‘Top ten books on my summer TBR list’.

I wrote part one of this list a couple of weeks ago when the theme was ‘Ten books that will be in my beach bag this summer‘. For that list I only picked books which I own in hard copy format. So, this week I’ve picked 10 books which are e-books or ARCs from NetGalley.

I Am Pilgrim
1. I Am Pilgrim – Terry Hayes
I have been really excited about reading this for months since hearing it featured on Simon Mayo’s Radio 2 Book Club. I’m sure it will be great but it’s over 700 pages long, so I haven’t managed to fit it in yet.
Mad About You
2. Mad About You – Sinead Moriarty
I requested this from NetGalley after seeing it featured on this season’s Richard and Judy Book Club picks. (I Am Pilgrim is also on that list).
Pop Goes the Weasel
3. Pop Goes the Weasel – M J Arlidge
Arlidge’s previous book ‘Eeny Meeny’ is also one of Richard and Judy’s picks. I have it as an audiobook, once I’ve listened to that I’ll start this. There’s quite a lot of buzz around Arlidge.
The Tightrope Walkers
4. The Tightrope Walkers – David Almond
Almond usually writes children’s books, so I was intrigued by his new book which is adult fiction.
The Beekeeper's Daughter
5. The Beekeeper’s Daughter by Santa Montefiore
I’ve enjoyed a couple of Montefiore’s romance books in the past.
Fallout
6. Fallout – Sadie Jones
I’m excited about Sadie Jones’s new book, I’ve enjoyed her work in the past.
A Perfect Heritage
7. A Perfect Heritage – Penny Vincenzi
I’ve never read any of Vincenzi’s books before, but I thought I’d give this a go
We Live in Water
8. We Live in Water – Jess Walter
This collection of short stories has a beautiful cover. I’ve also got Walter’s ‘Beautiful Ruins’ to read this summer.
Before We Met
9. Before We Met – Lucie Whitehouse
Another Richard and Judy summer pick. I downloaded this because it was very cheap on Amazon.
Every Dead Thing
10. Every Dead Thing – John Connolly
We went to see Connolly at our local bookshop a few months ago. I downloaded the first 4 of his Charlie Parker books in preparation for the event but ran out of time to finish his first book and have been waylaid by other book since. I definitely want to get back to it as he was a really entertaining speaker.

What will you be reading this summer?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my summer TBR list”

  1. I’m not very familiar with the books on your list, but definitely hope you’ll enjoy reading them this summer! Very curious about Pop Goes The Weasel because.. that name! I’m interested =)

  2. I loved The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly and the Charlie Parker books sound interesting too. Nice picks. I want to read more short stories this season, so I’ll definitely add We Live in Water to my TBR list. Thanks!

  3. I like the Charlie Parker books especially the hint of the supernatural in ‘The Black Angel.’ Have wanted to visit the ossuary in Sedlec ever since reading that book.

    1. I love books which inspire wanderlust! I’m particularly keen to read the Charlie Parker books before October when I shall be visiting Maine, where most of them are set.

    1. I know, I really want to read it, but how many other books could I read in the time it takes to read one that long! I have heard amazing things about it, though. Quandary.

  4. Great top ten! I just added various new books to my already exploding TBR list. 😀 I’m curious about Pop Goes The Weasel; I hope it’s better than the one James Patterson wrote with the same name.
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

