Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve read this year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ‘Top ten books I’ve read so far this year’. Unfortunately, writing this list was a bit disappointing. So far I’ve been a bit underwhelmed by many of the books I’ve read this year. It’s not that I’ve read lots of bad books, I’ve just been awarding a lot of three stars.

The big exception is The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion which stands head and shoulders above the rest as the only five star book I’ve read this year. Hopefully my choices will improve in the second half of the year and I’ll have a few more 5 stars on my list by the end of the year!

Top37-104-6

Here’s my list, links are to my reviews.

  1. The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion. Simply the best book I’ve read this year.
  2. Look Who’s Back – Timur Vermes. An incredibly brave and original concept for a book.
  3. The Clockwork Princess – Cassandra Clare. A very satisfying conclusion to this series.
  4. Echo Boy – Matt Haig. A very well executed YA sci-fi book.
  5. The Universe Versus Alex Woods – Gavin Extence. A touching oddball friendship story.
  6. Missing You – Harlan Coben. A fast-paced thriller.
  7. The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith. A well-rounded detective story.
  8. Second Chance Summer – Morgan Matson. A heart-warming YA hug.
  9. The Silent Wife – ASA Harrison. Dark tale of a woman who takes revenge on her cheating husband.
  10. Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher. An original twist on teenage depression.

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve read this year”

  1. I am dying to read Look Who’s Back. I almost once bought it already, but then left it at the bookstore because they only had it as a hardcover copy and I usually don’t buy hardcovers. I definitely need to check it out from the library or something though because the concept sounds AMAZING!

    1. Your list is great! I’m reading Eleanor and Park at the moment, I’m pretty sure it would have made this list if I’d finished it a couple of days earlier. I wish I could read The Secret Garden for the first time again!

  2. Oooo. The Rosie Project! I read that last year and just LOVED it. It’s fantastic. I also read The Universe versus Alex Woods last year and thought it was brilliant.
    Second Chance Summer is next up on my TBR, so I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to it.
    Here’s my TTT!

  3. Thanks for the suggestions. The best ones I have read this year are: Swann by Canadian author Carol Shields and the new book with a lot of buzz (sorry for the lame pun) — The Bees by Laline Paull. Check them out!

  4. I’m interested in the Rosie Project – I’ve been seeing it a lot lately. I loved Missing You! It’s been awhile since I read a Matt Haig book – I should check that one out. Great list!

  5. I loved The Warmth of Other Suns, by Isabel Wilkerson and also Recovering: A Journal, by May Sarton. In fiction, I loved Armistead Maupin’s conclusion to his Tales of the City series, The Days of Anna Madrigal.

    1. I saw Anna Madrigal in my local bookshop and thought I might read it as it’s quite exciting when books have my name in the title. Do you have to read it as part of the series or can it stand alone?

  6. I’ve heard so many good things about that Timur Vermes book, it sounds really intriguing! I wasn’t really a big fan of The Silent Wife, but I have that Harlan Coben in my TBR and am looking forward to turning those pages as quickly as i can read them!

Leave a Reply

