Top Ten Tuesday: Ten books that will be in my beach bag this summer

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ten books that will be in my beach bag this summer. It’s quite similar to the topic a couple of weeks later, Top ten books on my summer TBR list, so this is really part one of that list. I have so many books to read that I could probably make 50 different versions of that list!

For this list I’ve looked through my TBR pile and tried to pick lighter, fluffier books which I am more likely to consider to be beach reads. Plus, they have to be physical books I own because I wouldn’t risk taking an e-reader onto a beach!

BH EP BOY HB LO SW AMC blackBDC SB SS

1. Broken Homes – Ben Aaronovitch I’ve read the other three books in this series and can’t wait to get stuck into the next one.

2. Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell I bought this after seeing so many rave reviews on blogs and thought I’d give it a go.

3. The Book of You – Claire Kendal My first GoodReads First Reads win!

4. Half Bad – Sally Green I heard about this on Simon Mayo’s Radio 2 book club a few months ago and picked up a signed copy at the Hay Festival on Saturday.

5. The Lucky One – Nicholas Sparks I’ve got a pile of Sparks books which I’m planning to read ahead of a trip to North Carolina later this year. Perfect fluffy holiday reading.

6. The Shoemaker’s Wife – Adriana Trigiani My aunt bought this for me for Christmas 2012, I’ve been meaning to read it ever since but the writing is reeeeally small.

7. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness Another book I’ve been meaning to read forever. I love Patrick Ness so I don’t know why I haven’t read this yet.

8. Boy’s Don’t Cry – Malorie Blackman I bought this at Hay last year and really should get around to reading it.

9. Ship Breaker – Paolo Bacigalupi I bought this for my husband for Christmas after hearing it reviewed on The Enthusiasticast.

10. Sizzling Sixteen -Janet Evanovich I picked this up cheaply at a library sale. Total mindless fluff, ideal for the beach!

Have you read any of these books? Which should I read first? Share your thoughts and links to your top ten list below!

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten books that will be in my beach bag this summer”

  1. I’ve read The Book of You which was an excellent read. The setting split between Clarissa’s days in court as part of the jury and excerpts from her journal charting the terror of being stalked! Not exactly a light read but one I’ll be reading again 🙂

  2. The only one of these I’ve read is A Monster Calls which is a fabulous book. You’ve got me thinking about what to put on my own holiday reading list.

  3. A Monster Calls is an absolutely beautiful book. I loved it. I’ve been wanting to read Eleanor & Park, too. Everyone seems to love it. I really enjoyed her novel Attachments, so I want to try her other two. Great list!

  4. I’ve read a few Trigiani and think that’s an excellent choice for the beach. Not sure I’d take A Monster Calls though – it’s a great book, it really is, but quite sad. Hope I’m not giving anything away with that!
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

