Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

As I’ve mentioned before I love lists and books! So I’ve decided to join ‘Top Ten Tuesday’, the weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ten books I almost put down but didn’t.

Books I almost didn't finish

Here’s my list:

  1. Bitter River by Julia Keller (here’s my review)
  2. Enduring Love by Ian McEwan
  3. The Barbarian Nurseries by Hector Tobar (here’s my review on Goodreads)
  4. Girl Reading by  Katie Ward (here’s my review)
  5. The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster
  6. The Tesseract by Alex Garland
  7. A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore
  8. The Case of the Missing Books by Ian Sansom
  9. The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro
  10. Making it Up by Penelope Lively

This was a hard one, it’s not the sort of thing I keep track of but I looked through my lowest rated books and tried to remember which were a real struggle.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t”

    1. I didn’t really enjoy any of these books. ‘The Strain’ is the only Del Toro book I’ve read; I found it a struggle. I didn’t find the characters very interesting and the vampire/zombie creatures are too melevolent and sinister, if that makes sense, they don’t retain any humanity. There wasn’t enough hope and I found the writing pretty rough.

  1. I seem to struggle to read anything by Ian McEwan, and I also nearly put down The Case of the Missing Books. But The New York Trilogy is among my favorites (but I like most anything Paul Auster does).

    1. I loved Atonement but Enduring Love was silly. I don’t think I’m clever enough for Paul Auster; I didn’t understand all the Tower of Babel references!

Leave a Reply

