Graeme Simsion

Review of ‘The Rosie Project’ by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie ProjectI loved this book! It’s so much harder to write a book review when you have really enjoyed a book because there is nothing to be critical of.

I had wanted to read ‘The Rosie Project’ for ages, since hearing it featured on Simon Mayo’s Radio 2 book club early last year. I was waiting for the paperback to come out and, as luck would have it, to coincide with the paperback release a couple of months ago, Graeme Simsion visited my local book shop (the wonderful Booka in Oswestry) on his UK tour.  He was a brilliant speaker and really funny and I knew I was going to enjoy this book, so I waited until I was on holiday to read it so I could give it the attention it deserves.

It’s great; warm, funny, sweet, empathetic. It’s a romance between a unique individual and a woman who he feels is totally unsuitable for him but with whom he loves spending time and it is a joy to read. It gives you warm fuzzy feelings and I was smiling throughout. It’s well plotted, well paced, with fully rounded characters and a satisfying conclusion.

Simsion said that he wanted to write a book which followed the basic rules of a romcom film and he has succeeded beautifully. I cannot recommend this book highly enough!

8 thoughts on “Review of ‘The Rosie Project’ by Graeme Simsion”

  1. I think he said they’ve definitely sold the rights to the film and he might have mentioned working on the script. It will definitely make a great film.

  2. I’ve got this one sitting on my desk right now. Thinking I should have started it before the one I’m currently reading… How cool to get to see the author in person!

Leave a Reply

