My big pile of Gorky Parks to give away

Happy World Book Night!

ImageIt’s the fabulous World Book Night again! Such a great idea – giving books away to try to encourage more people to read and fall in love with reading. This year I have copies of ‘Gorky Park’ by Martin Cruz Smith to give away. I haven’t actually read it yet, but I’m looking forward to it as I enjoy Russian Cold War thrillers. I’m hoping it will be great; it’s quite a fat book to persuade non-readers to pick up!

I’ve received books to give away every year and it’s a lovely feeling to share your love of reading with other people. In previous years, Mike and I have gone to World Book Night parties hosted by our brilliant local bookshop Booka, but unfortunately they aren’t running anything this year because they’ve had so many fab events with great authors over the past few weeks. Never mind, it’s probably for the best as I’m off work sick today, curled up in bed feeling quite sorry for myself, so we wouldn’t have been able to go anyway. I don’t think I’ll be giving away many copies of my book today either!

I’ll post a review once I’ve read ‘Gorky Park’ and hopefully will find some deserving people to give my copies to over the next few days. Hopefully World Book Night will continue to run every year and will get the support and recognition it deserves.

14 thoughts on “Happy World Book Night!”

  1. Hello, and thanks for stumbling upon my blog. 🙂 Happy World Book Night to you! This is my first year as a giver and I am rather excited. I’m in the US, so our selections were probably different than yours, but I’m giving away Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Hope you’re feeling well enough to distribute some books soon!!

    1. Hey, Kelly–Perks of Being a Wallflowers was one of my choices, but I will be giving about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Super excited.

      Anna, hope you start feeling better–although curled up in bed isn’t a bad way to spend World Book Night…maybe some hot tea… Tuck in and take care!

      1. I saw the film, but it was when my son was just born; I don’t remember much from those sleep-deprived first few months. :-/ The book is wonderful, though; I hope you enjoy it when you get to it!

    1. Yes, I thought that was a bit of an odd choice when I saw it on the list, but I suppose they pick books to appeal to all sorts of people. Dreda Say Mitchell is on the radio quite a lot and she seems very clever and has interesting opinions, so I expect the book is better than its name suggests! Good luck giving your copies away.

      1. It is kind of gritty and a bit limited in its appeal but then I was not keen on ‘Why be happy when you can be normal either’. I don’t know what I would choose to appeal to a wide audience of people who don’t usually read. Some of these I feel might put people off!

Leave a Reply

